

OMA Section on Primary Care Mental Health Section Annual General Meeting

You are invited to attend our OMA Section's AGM on Thursday May 24, 2018.

Location: OMA Offices, 150 Bloor Street West, Suite 900, Toronto

6:30 PM: Doors open for light refreshments and collegial interaction.

6:45 PM: Business meeting

7:45-9:15 PM: FIRST ANNUAL DAVID CREE MEMORIAL LECTURE

7:45-8:00 PM: In Memoriam

Speaker: Irene Kleban, MSW, RSW, Partner of Dr. David Cree

8:00-9:15 PM: Educational Session with Dr. Lynn Marshall

RSVP: michaelpare@rogers.com



Topic: Guidelines for the Practice of Psychotherapy by Physicians

Medical Psychotherapy Association Canada Professional Development Committee Guidelines Task Force

Approved by the Board of Directors MDPAC October, 2017

Chair: Dr. Lynn Marshall, MD, FAAEM, FCSCH-OD MCFP LM

Members: Joan E. Barr BSc, MD, Med, MCFP, CPSO Member Emerita

Carol Brock BA, MD, CPSO Member Emerita Karyn Klapecki ME, CCFP, FCFP, CGPP

Larry Nusbaum MD

Speaker: Dr. Lynn Marshall, MD, FAAEM, FCSCH-OD MCFP LM

The Guidelines Task Force Members are all experienced MDs trained in psychotherapy through various education programs and modalities, who have practised psychotherapy for many years. In addition, they have a variety of interests that they brought to bear in developing the Guidelines principles. Karyn is focused on "Inspired Pathways- the Power of Being", coaching in Toronto and Sedona, Arizona, and presenting courses across Canada. Lynn is interested in mind-body interactions, particularly with respect to chronic, complex illnesses, and the use of clinical hypnosis in practice. Joan has been particularly interested in education programs, and was instrumental in developing them for MDPAC/GPPA. Larry, in addition to

being a physician psychotherapist, is also a musician and singer songwriter, who brings people together in his international "Circles of Hope". Carol has been involved in regulation of the practice of psychotherapy, and served as a Peer Reviewer and Advisor to the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario.

Objectives:

- 1. The mission and vision
- 2. The process
- 3. What to DO and what NOT TO DO

A few "Save the Dates":

- 1. The 22nd Annual McMaster Muskoka Seminars (http://www.medicalpsychclinic.org/mms2018.pdf)
 - ➤ The Management of Simple & Complex Post Traumatic Stress: July 9–13 (9:00 AM 12:15 PM) at Blue Mountain (Speaker: Dr. Harry Zeit and Dr. Amy Alexander)
 - Practical Introduction to General Practice Psychotherapy, August 13-17 (9:00 AM 12:15 PM) at Deerhurst (Speaker: Dr. Michael Paré)
 <u>Distance Education Option Practical Introduction to General Practice Psychotherapy, August 13-17 (6:30 9:30 PM) (Speaker: Dr. Michael Paré)</u>
- 2. OMA Summer Series (http://www.medicalpsychclinic.org/OMA_Summer_Series.pdf)

Organizer: Dr. Harold Pupko

Date: June 12 & 26; July 17 & 31; August 14 & 28;

Time: 7:30-9:30 PM

Veune: OMA Offices, 150 Bloor Street West, 9th Floor

Cost: No charge

Direction to OMA Offices: Going North or South on Avenue Road, turn East onto Cumberland Avenue. There will be parking garages on your left. To enter 150 Bloor, walk through the breezeway to the main lobby, or if you arrive after hours, walk to the front entrance (diagonally facing Avenue Road just north of Bloor Street) and enter through the main doors.

Stay up to date about upcoming programs, follow us at www.omamentalhealth.wordpress.com

The views and the opinions expressed in this communication are those of the Section, District or Branch Society and may not reflect the views, policies and the opinions of the Ontario Medical Association. The Ontario Medical Association administers the distribution of Section, District and Branch Society communications but is not responsible for the contents. The OMA does not warrant the accuracy, timeliness or the completeness of the information contained in a Section, District or Branch communication.

Our Current Executive Committee:

Section Chair – Dr. Michael Paré, Toronto

Vice Chair – Dr. Anne Shaw, Hamilton

Tariff Chair – Dr. Muriel van Lierop, Toronto

Treasurer – Dr. James Whyte, Hamilton

Secretary – Dr. Gunilla Likwornik, Toronto

Member-At-Large – Dr. Harold Pupko, Toronto

Education Chair – Dr. Darryl Wolski, St. Catharines